Print this page

Quirk Quartet and Richard Ingham

Quirk Quartet and Richard Ingham

Quirk is a vibrant and flexible saxophone ensemble founded in 2015. They have performed as a duo, quartet, sextet, and as a larger ensemble in collaboration with some of the world’s finest saxophonists, including Claude Delangle, Philippe Geiss, and Jérôme Laran. Their recital at this World Saxophone Congress welcomes saxophonist and composer Richard Ingham, joining them to play one of his original compositions. Richard was the Director of the XVI World Saxophone Congress 2012 in St. Andrews, Scotland. His recent projects include the first UK performance of the saxophone version of Boulez’ Dialogues de L’Ombre Double in 2016. He has written many works, including Pieces for Five Players, premiered in this recital by the Quirk Quartet and Richard. Richard is the editor of The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone (Cambridge University Press, 1999). Quirk have performed at venues across the UK; their innovative recitals span music from the classical saxophone repertoire to jazz and multimedia presentations. Composers and arrangers themselves, they present works by members of the quartet in this recital. The Quirk Quartet are Sarah Markham (soprano), Kenneth Wilkinson (alto), Chris Jolly (tenor), Sarah Hind (baritone).

Sarah Markham, soprano saxophone
Kenneth Wilkinson, alto saxophone
Chris Jolly, tenor saxophone
Sarah Hind, baritone saxophone
Richard Ingham, guest artist, saxophone



Developed by Domena.com