Tong Yang & Guests

Beijing born Tong Yang is currently leaving his footprints of masterclass and recital throughout Europe, USA and Asia with appearances at London Trinity Laban Conservatoire UK, Hochschule fur Musik und Darstellende Kunst Stuttgart (GuestProfessor) Germany, Mary Peppert School of Music at Duquesne Univeristy, USA, Forbidden City Hall, Beijing, Shenzhen Concert Hall, Tian Jin Grand Theater, Hong Kong City Hall, Taipei National University of Arts, etc. He is considered to be one of the foremost saxophone pedagogues in China. In addition to his love of the Concert Saxophone repertoire, he is also keen on developing and proliferating saxophone contemporary music through contact with many of today's composers. From 2001 to 2008, he studied at Russian Gnesin's Academy of Music with Professor Yury Valonsov. During his time at the Academy, he received 1st Prize of D.E.M. Saxophone from Conservatoire de National de Bordeaux in the class of Marie Bernadette Charrier, and was awarded a Master of Arts Diploma de Concert from Conservatoire de Lausanne Switzerland under the guidance of Pierre-Stéphane Meugé. In 2012 he is invited to be in jury for the Hong Kong Youth Symphonic band Competition and in 2014 for the  Macau Youth Musicians Competition by Culture Department of Hong Kong and Macau Government. In 2011 he became Tenured Professor of Saxophone at Central Conservatory of Music, Beijing. In 2016 he became vice chairman of Hong Kong International Single Reed Association.

Tong Yang, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone
Ivan Batoš, piano
Pei Li, alto saxophone 
Yusheng Chen, erhu
Xigongzhu Wen, zheng


  • Jul 11 2018

    Tong Yang & Guests


    John M. Kennedy (1958): Breath, Smoke, Crystals for alto saxophone (premiere performance)
    Bruno Vlahek (1988): HR Suita / CRO Suite for alto saxophone and piano (premiere performance) 
    Yusheng Chen (1996): 红莲灯 The Red Lotus Lantern for soprano saxophone with alto saxophone, erhu and Chinese zheng

    ACADEMY OF MUSIC Fran Lhotka Hall Trg Republike Hrvatske 12