Sea and Sky Collective


Sea and Sky Collective has taken its name from a rich and evocative work by the late Australian composer Peter Sculthorpe. It references a duality, the individual and ensemble characteristics of the musicians are present – from the inventiveness, flying solos and virtuosic flair of clarinetist François Houle and saxophonist Julia Nolan; the poetic mastery, fierce power and musical depth of Jane Hayes; the infectious violin lyricism of Joan Blackman; to the fused interpretation of classics and brave new worlds for this innovative collection of instruments. In Zagreb, the Sea and Sky Collective presents itself as a violin – saxophone – piano trio. Violinist Joan Blackman, is the former Associate Concert Master of the VSO and Artistic Director of the Vetta Chamber Series. Julia Nolan has performed as soloist and chamber musician in Canada, the USA, Europe, China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong presenting concerti written for her by Canadian composers. Since her debut with the Toronto Symphony, Jane Hayes has performed across Canada, the USA, Europe, Mexico, and China. Seldom do artists of such individual accomplishment combine so spectacularly to jointly render chamber music magic. They continue the quest for music for this combination and will record in the near future.


Joan Blackman, violin
Julia Nolan, saxophone
Jane Hayes, piano


  • Jul 11 2018

    Sea and Sky Collective


    Dorothy Chang (1970): Four Bagatelles
    Eileen Padgett ( 1987): In Praise of Women (premiere performance)
    Jean-Luc Defontains (1971): Couleurs d'un Reve for alto saxophone, violin and piano
    Marc Eychenne (1952): Cantilène et Danse, trio for violin, alto saxophone and piano

    ACADEMY OF MUSIC Vaclav Huml Hall Trg Republike Hrvatske 12